So, what can you do?

This guy tosses bricks on his head, two at a time.

I made pumpkin gnocchi with a four year-old last night. And it was great. The little one even rolled out the things himself. Yeah, the brick-on-head guy still has us whipped.

Recipe after the jump.

Gnocchi di Zucca Gialla

3 cloves garlic, smashed and roughly hacked
3 T good olive oil
200 grams roasted eating pumpkin, mashed well
200 grams mashed potatoes
100 grams semolina flour
1/2 cup grated Ewephoria cheese (yes, real parm. would be great here)

Extra credit:
200 grams oyster mushrooms
200 grams roasted, cubed pumpkin.
1/4 cup pine nuts

Get a big pot of salted boiling water going. Heat oil in large saute pan over medium heat and toss in the garlic. Combine remaining ingredients and mix well, adding additional flour if needed. Resist the urge to salt and pepper the dough. Roll the dough into long snakes and slice into even, inch-long pieces. Roll individual pieces over the back of a fork, applying enough pressure to give each one some good ridges. I don’t know if a caveman could do this, but a four year-old can.

Remove the garlic from the pan. If going for extra credit, add the mushrooms and brown, then the pumpkin and pine nuts.

Toss the gnocchi into the roiling water and boil for 3-4 minutes. When they hint at floating, drain in a colander and throw them in the garlicky olive oil. Toss, top with more cheese, salt and pepper. Thyme would be good here too. Put on plates and eat well.

Serves three adults or two adults and two kids. Inspired by Judy Witts of Divina Cucina.

This was easily the best gnocchi I’ve made myself. Light-textured and fluffy as opposed to my last gut-bomb experiment. They weren’t as good as Sycamore’s, but really, really nice. I used leftover mashed potatoes from Thankgiving and roasted the pumpkin in advance. The Root Cellar has them in abundance. We were surprised at how unpumpkinny they were; just tasted like really good winter squash, not like you were eating jack-o-lantern innards.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. I would have never thought to make pumpkin gnocchi! That sounds fantastic, and I love your “extra credit” additions, I bet that would take it over the top. I tried to make gnocchi once before and it was a disaster, flour everywhere, lumpy slimy gnocchi, but my skill in the kitchen has been much improved over the past few years. I am taking down this recipe, I have tons of pureed pumpkin in my freezer. Oh, and I love the garlicky olive oil idea. Do you purchase pre-made garlicky olive oil or do you make your own? If so, how?

  2. Yes, gnocchi can be a disaster. But give it another shot. And one trick may be to leave the dough a little softer than you think it should be. It was much more pliable than bread dough and I think that helped keep the texture light.

    As for the garlicky olive oil, that just happens from sauteing the garlic in the oil and then removing it. No need to buy anything special.

Leave a comment