All good things…

For the last four-plus years I’ve had a biweekly column (90 in all!) in the Tribune’s food section. It’s been fun – and a great way to reach people who’d never end up here, on the blog. But it’s a bit of a chore. If a blog post kinda sucks, well hey, it didn’t costya nothin’. Going on KFRU to chat about food requires virtually no preparation – and is more fun than writing a column anyway. So my column in today’s paper will be my last. Work is taking up a lot of time, as is a new project I’ll devote an upcoming post to. As for food, I’ll stick with those outlets and promise to post here more often. It’s been sparse, I know. Finally, major appreciation goes to Marcia Vanderlip, the paper’s food editor, for giving me the platform to share my thoughts in the paper since November 2008. It’s been a good ride.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. For what it’s worth, I go to your blog and often miss your column. I like listening to you and always prefer to run into you when out eating 🙂

    And I’m sort of sorry to hear about the column, because I got a note today from someone who had TERRIBLE service at a downtown restaurant, but raves about the food. He’s in a quandary as to how to let the owners know their wait staff is keeping people from returning to what is otherwise an excellent dining choice.

    I told him to contact you and that you may be able to write about it. Let me know if you’d rather he didn’t.

    Best on all your endeavors,
    Maria

  2. I enjoyed your columns, although my readership dropped off when Hank instituted the 10 article per month paywall at the ol’ Tribune. Good stuff, Scott.

  3. Yes, Glenn. I’ll still post here. And hopefully more often!

    Maria, feel free to put your friend in touch with me. Depending on the details it might be an interesting topic.

  4. Hey, Scott, even though you’re discontinuing your Trib column, glad to hear you are not going away totally and will be posting MORE on this blogsite in the future. Always enjoy reading your takes on food/drinks/cooking/dining. Kudos to you always! 😉

Leave a Reply

