Restaurant talk on KFRU (and Cheddar’s Cafe, in pictures)

I’m going to be on 1400 KFRU at 10:15 am tomorrow (Friday) morning, and the topic du jour will be the volatile restaurant market in Columbia these days. Places moving, places expanding, places opening, places closing. All that good stuff. Listen in.

One of the restaurants we’ll be discussing is “Cheddar’s Casual Cafe,” which will be going in where Chevy’s used to be. I went to their website to learn more and naturally, got stuck on the photos. So, caption contest (incl., my initial takes):

Giada loves her some “Texas Cheese Fries,” Maverick digs flat beer.

“Mommydaddy, Mommydaddy, I’m taaaaalking to you!”

Cheddar’s recommends the chocolate martini with your quesadilla, especially if Grandpa’s buying!

(Kidding aside, the actual menu looks somewhat better than the photos would indicate.)

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. Actually Scott, I’ve eaten at a Cheddar’s several times in Mansfield, Ohio. I will say this…it’s several steps above an Applebee’s or Ruby Tuesday, IMHO (I know that’s not saying much). Much more creative menu and the execution isn’t shabby either. I liked the atmosphere better, too. I see there are a few others in MO (Springfield, St. Joseph, maybe Independence?). Last time we were there, we had the New Orleans pasta and the fish tacos, and they were more than acceptable. This chain started in 1979 in Arlington, TX, so take that FWIW. Every chain has to start “somewhere” – ha!

    What I’m most interested in are their mixed drinks that are limited to 2 per person…those better be some pretty powerful drinks if I can only get me two of ’em!

  2. I grew up in Texas and went to Cheddars quite often in high school and college. From what I remember, they had really good burgers and sandwiches. I’m glad to see they’re coming here!

Leave a Reply

