Signs Columbia doesn’t quite “get” Asian food…

  1. The Inside Columbia “Best of Columbia” balloting excludes the four best Asian restaurants in town*.
  2. One of the worst – Bangkok Gardens – is the runaway winner so far.

* Kojaba, Chim’s Thai Kitchen, Chinese Wok Express and Saigon Bistro

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. I’m with you on Kojaba and Chim’s, but not on the Chinese Wok Express, which was totally nasty the one time I went, or Saigon Bistro, which I tried twice and thought gross both times

  2. agreed – few Columbia Asian restaurants present clean tasting food. I have heard from one Asian restaurant owner who thinks his customers won’t like real Asian food so their recipes are “doctored” to satisfy American palate. Made me sad. But the reality seems to be we expect saltier and sweeter food.

  3. Don’t ask me why I remember this, Robin, but didn’t you get your CWE food to-go? That may have been an issue. Anyway, I go every couple of weeks and love it. Maybe a second chance? Also, Saigon Bistro was rough early on. They’ve improved.

    As for the salty/sweet thing, Maria, Thai food as you know is both, but Chim’s does tend to overdo the former. Depends on who is in the kitchen.

    Sadly, almost all of the Chinese food in town is dumbed down as you describe.

  4. If I compare the Chinese food here with what I was use to in the California SF Bay area… what I noticed right away and continues ten years later is that they over sauce everything here. The last time I was at Q’s the salt almost killed me. I tend not to go back after experiences like that.

  5. I have given up on Inside Columbia’s Best Of list. It’s really not a Best of Columbia, but a Best of Inside Columbia Advertisers. Chim’s doesn’t buy Fred’s adspace, so they’re not nominated.

Leave a Reply

