Beating the cold

When things turn Arctic, as they did here this week, I immediately begin thinking “soup.” It’s not the sexiest of foods, it doesn’t photograph well and doesn’t grace many magazine covers. It’s comforting, warming and fills the house with a lingering aroma. Thomas Keller’s butternut squash soup fit the bill over the weekend. But mid-week, while out Christmas shopping or running errands, I’m more likely to duck in somewhere for a bowl of what someone else has cooked.

So – unsexiness be damned – what are the best soups and cold-weather dishes in town?

I’ll be talking about some of my favorites tomorrow at 8:45 am on 102.3 BXR.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

15 thoughts

  1. This is not “in town,” but I am a fan of the Hobo Stew (a spicy vegetable beef soup) at Zesto’s in Jeff.

    Back in Columbia, while it’s a chain, I never pass up the onion soup at Houlihan’s.

  2. Nothing can beat Teller’s French Onion Soup in my book (and while I am a bit biased, I am a FO soup aficionado) The herbs and sherry make all the difference.

    Also, as much as it pains me, I am huge fan of the soup bar at Schnuck’s of all places! The Monterey jack cheese broccoli is so good and back near their seafood counter is awesome seafood bisque. I hit the soup buffet quite often when I am pressed for time 🙂

  3. Seriously, as crazy as this seems, our Red Lobster has the best New England Clam Chowder you’ll find anywhere in town with the exception of home-made! It’s creamy and rich with nice chunks of potato and actual clam pieces. And, you can get it plus salad and those garlic cheese biscuits at a nice all-you-care-to-eat price. Party on!

  4. About once a month I hit the Korean place, Kojaba in the Parkade for the kimchee stew/soup. Its hot in two ways, spicy and it’s actually boiling when they set it in front of you. They always serve four small side dishes with it, which vary. It fills you up and warms you to the core.

  5. Pickleman’s does have good soup albeit a bit pricey, but still good! Same goes for their sandwiches.

  6. Monty – I’ve been dying to go there after becoming a fan of Marja et al. on Kimchi Chronicles. Do they have vegetarian and/or good seafood options for those who don’t eat meat? Is there a website with a menu online? Thanks!

  7. Actually the kimchee soup is veggie unless you pay more to add meat. It has tofu, kimchee and several other veggies. They do have seafood dishes and Sushi. I could not find a menu on-line that looks like the one they currently have. It’s quite extensive.

  8. Monty — Sounds great and thank you for your kind reply. What are the prices like? I may want to treat someone for the holidays!

  9. I don’t fully understand the menu because there are several things I imagine are dinners for a crowd that run $25-$40. I have only been there for lunch and have only actually eaten two dishes, the soup and a spicy pork dish. Lunch is $6-$8. The soup is $8 but I have a full belly with the side dishes they serve with it. The less complicated dinner dishes were a few dollars more than lunch I believe.

  10. I too am a fan of Kojaba. Their dishes run a little higher than your average Chinese food place, but the food is quality and the servings are generous. I consider it a good value.

  11. I had an amazing kale and potato soup recently at Broadway Brewery. I am usually very pleased with the soups at Teller’s. I love the red lentil soup at Bleu.

  12. The Mushroom Barley soup at Uprise Bakery is wonderful, and the lentil soup at Mediterranean cafe is delicious.

  13. Here at Shotgun Pete’s BBQ Shack on the business loop, we will be offering a Smoked Brisket Chili sometime in Janurary when it’s REALLY cold outside. It’s a spicy chili with lots of brisket meat, chili beans, chopped onions and green chili peppers. I hate coold weather, but love a good hot cup or bowl of Chili to warm up with!

Leave a Reply

