Truck Stop Missouri

As you may have heard, the Midway exit is now home to a fourth-rate reality tv show called “Truck Stop Missouri.” I thought it might be fun, but it’s so obviously staged and unfunny that it may not even work as Mystery Science Theater 3000 material. I was okay with us looking like rubes (is anyone worth convincing otherwise actually going to watch this show?), but it turned out to just be unwatchably lame. Fake, phony, utterly-staged bullshit. On the other hand, the breakfast at the Perche Creek Yacht Club just up the road is pretty solid.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

9 thoughts

  1. Couldn’t agree more– it’s cringe-worthy embarrassing. That said, I watched it, with the fascination of watching a slow-motion train wreck, all the while counting how many Bechtolds in the area I knew and knew of and wondering how the protagonist was related to them.

  2. All reality shows are fake, but this one was painfully so.

    However, I think Jim Struttman (of Jim and Tim who play at the Holts Summit Winery on Thursdays) still plays at Midway. I used to play guitar with him many moons ago, so I’m going to keep watching, hoping he might be on.

  3. Yep, I’m kind of regretting e-mailing everyone that I know and telling them we got our own show. Lets just hope it gets better. I’ll keep watching for the time being. What is it with train wrecks and Columbia lately? They have a lot in common though… slow motion, food and people dressed funny to name a few.

  4. I don’t know who you are or who you think you are. But you sound like one big pretentious stuck-up snob that obviously has decided to relinquish all of his journalistic integrity to bash a show which is undeserving of such criticism.
    I don’t know which episode you watched but I found the show hilarious and good fun.

  5. “Kurt S.”, my name’s on the blog (Scott Rowson if you missed it) and that’s roughly who I think of myself as. The adjectives/nouns you ascribe to me may indeed be accurate, I don’t know. When it comes to matters of taste and style, to each his own.

    I’ve watched episode two and three and the show is clearly, painfully staged. Inarguably. Nothing but reenacted scenes at best, dreamt up entirely at worst.

    I also find the show hilarious and good fun, but probably not for the same reasons as you.

    (ps: I am also not a journalist, but nobody’s perfect)

  6. I agree with you Scott, and worse, the acting is not even up to “B” list. I caught the end of the one with the guy in his underwear at the laundry room, and it was so hokey and corny, and the acting was so bad, I can’t believe I gave the next episode a shot. Kurt, unless you are just associated with the show, you’re delusional.

    Awful acting. Awful scenarios. Awful show.

  7. The idea for the show is ok, but there just isnt really enough goings on at a truck stop to fill up a tv show week after week (let alone one episode)! It would be mundane and boring for sure.
    I guess this is why they end up staging things on it, otherwise it would just be people eating, refueling or getting a hotel room with the occaisional concert. zzzzzzzz

  8. I was seriously disappointed in this show. I thought the premise was good enough, but, yeah, the staging is painfully obvious. For example, in the episode where a cow was running around loose, the fact that it’s tied up when they first find it is really noticeable. Also, on the review I wrote for my blog, someone left a comment saying they knew the guy doing laundry, and that he is indeed an actor.

Leave a Reply

