87 Diner

If you’re anything like me, you’ve driven by the 87 Diner (just outside of Boonville at exit 106 on I-70) dozens of times and thought, “Hmm, I should try that place.” But you never do, do you? Neither did I. Until I did. And folks, it’s time to put the procrastination behind you. The 87 Diner is awesome. Last week I had the best chicken fried steak of my life there. Crunchy, tender, perfectly cooked and covered with sausage gravy that is every bit its equal.

Curious to see if they had a repeat performance in them, my dad, father-in-law, son and I hit the place for an early lunch before golfing on Father’s Day. Dad and I ordered the “87 Diner Mess,” which is a split biscuit topped with hashbrowns, two eggs and a heart-testing amount of that sausage gravy. FIL had the ribeye breakfast, which came with a generous 10-ounce steak, a couple of eggs, hashbrowns and toast – it was excellent as well.

The decor, if you want to call it that, is what you’d expect from a diner run out of a metal shed. Lots of bad art, knick-knacks and so on, all for sale. But everyone seems to know each other and the severe-looking ladies in the kitchen turn out some mean food. I’ll be back.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. How was the cigarette smoke in that place on your two visits? I asked a co-worker if he had been there, he said “yes, food was good but we had to go home and shower to rid us of exhaled tobacco products”.

    That’s enough to keep me away…. and that chicken fried steak sounds so good.

  2. Didn’t notice the smoke either time. Normally, one side of the restaurant is non-smoking and – strangely enough – the whole place is non-smoking on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

