Beginner’s posole

Inspired by some killer posole at Sycamore last week, I decided to take a seat-of-the-pants swipe at this ancient Mexican stew. Damn if it didn’t turn out pretty good. Here’s how I made it:

Posole

3 T lard (peanut oil would be a good substitute)
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
2 T ground cumin (plus more to taste)
1 28oz. can tomatoes
3 cups pork stock*
1 28oz. can Mexican-style hominy, drained and rinsed
Salt to taste
1 lb. pulled pork
El Yucateco hot sauce to taste

Heat lard or fat in stockpot over medium heat, then add onion and garlic, stirring frequently until soft. Add cumin and stir until fragrant but taking care not to burn. Add tomatoes and stock and simmer – partially covered – for 15 minutes, then add hominy. Simmer another 15 mins and add meat and hot sauce, heating through and then covering and removing from heat. Adjust seasoning and serve garnished with chopped cilantro, sour cream and more hot sauce.

Makes 6-8 servings.

* – pork stock is available from the Columbia Area Career Center’s Culinary Arts program. For more information email Brook Harlan at bharlan@columbia.k12.mo.us or call (573) 214-3158.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

16 thoughts

  1. I’ll go out on a limb here and bet that hominy is available in EVERY grocery store in town (canned veggies section or Mexican section). Perhaps the word “Mexican” made it sound different. Mexico probably invented hominy but all hominy is the same…..except you can sometimes find yellow hominy. I have never seen “seasoned” varities but as soon as I say they don’t exist I’ll get corrected.

    Recipe sounds very tasty. ;0)

  2. The Mexican was throwing me off. Hominy I know. Yellow and white. Love it. By the way, one of the best and simplest preparations for Hominy is to fry up some good old fashioned patty sausage (Jimmy Dean or whatever) and then drain a can of hominy and cook it up in the drippings. Serve with eggs of choice. Yummy.

  3. True, hominy is hominy. It said “Mexican hominy” on the can so that’s what I wrote in the recipe. Which is very tasty btw.

  4. The sausage, hominy and egg dish sounds very tasty! Going to have to try that, soon! Thanks.

  5. I make Pasole quite often but I have always started with chunks of raw pork butt and braised it in the stew for a few hours at 250 in the oven. I’m sure the pre-cooked pork speeds things up a lot. Not sure why I never thought of that, but I will have to try it.

    Scott, next time roast some poblanos and add them to your stew. They make the Pasole sooo much better and give it a little kick.

  6. Chris, I only used cooked shoulder because I had it on hand. Your way would almost certainly be better. Do you put the hominy in at the beginning of the braise? I was concerned it would disintegrate with a long cooking, but maybe not. Re: poblanos, I even have some roasted and frozen. Total fail on my part.

  7. Well since this is such a delicious thread and since this recipe is so close to a dish our family calls “good stuff”…. here is another modification. Use the fresh pork chunks (browned) like Chris suggested, add some fresh garlic and several chopped celery stalks and lastly add a full 28oz can of Hatch green chillies (available in the Mexican section of the Connaly Walmart, believe it or not).

    We make this for burritos so you want to braise off a lot of the liquid. We do not use the hominy for this but it it would still be good.

    Serve as the meat for burritos with all your favorite additions… fresh lime squeezes being a mandatory addition!

    This is the most frequently requested birthday dinners from my now adult kids.

  8. Scott,
    I was also afraid the hominy would disintregrate, but unlike potatoes or turnips, it seems to hold up just fine. Plus it takes on more of the flavor from the braise.

  9. Oh, one more thing. You can make it from raw pork butt in a pressure cooker in about 45 mins.

  10. Okay, being a single person and not being that much of a cook, I took license with Scott’s recipe above. And though I’m sure his is even better, this was darn fine tasty and super easy. My version will produce 4 generous servings.

    Didn’t have lard, so I sauteed onion in a tablespoon of butter. I skipped the garlic just because I have to be careful with it. Found an 8 oz box of pork stock at HyVee, so I added that, a can of del monte fire roasted tomatoes with garlic(so I did get some garlic flavor). No hot sauce on hand, so I put in 1 T of a farmer’s market vendor “zesty salsa” which is her Medium, and 1 T of chopped jarred jalapenos. 1 (12 oz) can yellow hominy, drained. I’m not a super huge fan of cumin, so I used a heaping teaspoon of the ground. Too cheap to buy the whole cumin. Obviously add more if you love it.

    My meat was from Buckinghams. I actually put in about 4 oz of their smoked turkey and 4 oz of the pulled pork. Topped the whole thing with some fresh avocado and a nice dollop of fage 2% greek yogurt.

    Took about 15 minutes to make start to finish. Really amazing, and I can’t wait to try it again tomorrow when the flavors have really steeped in.

  11. The other thing to remember is that you can put other things into hominy besides pork: goat shanks, for example, or chicken.

    How about a vegetarian version?

    And does anyone know where to get dried hominy in Columbia?

Leave a Reply

