The Beers of Summer

Evan Benn offered a nice rundown of some of the better spring and summer beers on Esquire.com the other day. It’s my turn this week, and I’ll be on BXR with Simon and Leslie Thursday morning talking about what to drink now that the weather’s turning warm (and 9:00 8:50 a.m. isn’t too early to talk beer, is it?). My Tribune column the following week will cover similar ground.

So far this year I’ve enjoyed Breckenridge Brewery’s SummerBright, Arcadia’s Whitsun and Schlafly’s ever-drinkable Kolsch. A mixed 12-pack from Schnucks awaits further, er, research, but in the meantime I’m curious what others are drinking on the back porch these days.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

11 thoughts

  1. Oberon always makes the list, but I’d also include sours and saisons. I’m looking forward to cracking open a few brews from Jolly Pumpkin, some of the Lips of Faith Series of beers, and a bottle of New Glarus’ Belgian Red.

  2. After multiple trips to Anchorage I developed a love for Raspberry Wheat. Every brewery in Anchorage has a Raspberry Wheat year round that are not overly sweet or overly raspberry. Sadly, I get the impression our local brewers view a beer such as this to be below their abilities. I can see not having a light beer like this year a round in mid-Missouri, but it is so refreshing in the summer. Oh well. Schafley has a Raspberry Wheat out again this summer. It is a little sweeter then I prefer, but it is by far the best I have found.

    Also, is it just me, or does a bottled micro-brew just never taste as good as out of the tap? Maybe this is psychological, but I swear it is just never quite as good.

    If you are ever in Anchorage, hit Alaskan Brewing Co and The Moose’s Tooth Brewery and give the Raspberry Wheat a try. You will not be disappointed.

  3. Luckily we ended up finding the elusive fourth hop after we headed for the mountains of Busch…

  4. Chris, have you tried Purple Haze, Abita’s raspberry wheat? I’ve been digging on that for quite awhile now, but I’m partial to Abita’s offerings anyway…wish we could get them all up here in Missouri.

    And as for Miller Lite…all I’ve got to say about that is it’s a helluva lot better than Pud Light! 🙂

  5. I have been drinking Schlafley’s Helles Style Summer Ale. Also, a bottle of two of Samuel Adams Summer Ale. Has anyone seen or tried their Rustic Saison or East-West Kolsch? I am not sure why they did not bring samples when they came to town for their summer party at Shiloh.

    While not a summer style, I have also been enjoing Odell’s Red Ale.

  6. I’ve tried both the Rustic Saison or East-West Kolsch and both are decent offerings. I like the Saison a little better I think. Summer Ale isn’t bad either.

  7. Christine, I have tried Purple Haze. A little too much raspberry flavor my taste, but it isn’t bad. It is about the only decent raspberry wheat I can find year round. And I’m with you, I like Abita. If I’m making Cajun food, some Abita is sure to be found.

Leave a Reply

