Cooking with your Kindle (or Nook, or whatever)

The Kindle is a phenomenally useful little gadget. I’ve downloaded books in Thailand, updated Facebook, read in bright sunlight, etc. What I haven’t done much of with it is peruse cookbooks or food references (such as Harold McGee’s incomparable “On Food and Cooking“). But there  are very good reasons to think this would work. It’s searchable for one, rendering that obscure recipe for smoky salsa roja instantly available. Some, including Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything,” have special features for e-readers such as concise, hyperlinked recipe lists. They’re also lighter than Bittman’s 1056-page monster and will lay flat (for the love of God!).

I’ll give one or two titles a shot, but was curious if anyone else brings their Kindle or Nook into the kitchen. Any particular titles, formats or e-readers work best?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. I’ll have to remember How to Cook Everything; the pages are falling out of my paper volume now! I use my laptop in the kitchen and have for a while and love it. I’m a really messy cook and it is much simpler to wipe it off than cookbook pages. Bookmarking and notes are organized, less messy, and less bulky too. Reviews are a really nice bonus for things like holiday meals or potlucks.

    I’ve not really crossed over from paper books though, so the tips on those pluses are nice to hear too.

  2. I use my iPhone in the kitchen a lot- the Hoe to Cook Everything app is great. The embedded timers are really slick. There are a lot of cookbok apps out there, I’ve found them really useful while traveling or cooking in friends kitchens. I also use kitchen timer, egg timer, references like cooking temperatures on the iPhone. What I really want for cooking though is an iPad.

Leave a Reply

