What to eat when you’re stuck at home (with company)

I was pretty close to letting my Bon Appetit subscription lapse. Before, that is, I got the February issue. It’s perfect. Braises, winter salads, chili…perfect when you’re snowed in at home with the parents and the in-laws. So far I’ve made:
Chili con Carne
Portuguese Chicken
Salads with Lemon-Yogurt Dressing

And tonight, it’ll be Thai Spareribs. So far I can recommend them all, though you might just go with chicken thighs on the Portuguese Chicken recipe…the long braise dried out the breast meat.

What’s best is that everyone’s getting along (ample wine and beer were procured pre-storm).

Not from Bon Appetit but also awesome were some fried rice cakes with red dragon sauce (from Momofuku). I added some pan-fried trout filets.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

6 thoughts

  1. Hey! Sounds wonderful. Let’s see, at our house we tried lasagna in a crock-pot (REDUCE cooking time by half – do not precook noodles.) There is a cherry-cheese danish on the cooling rack and my second loaf of bread in the oven. Meatloaf (a must for the Virginia gentleman). Chicken thighs cooked a la confit (YES YES YES). Cheesy brown rice (for the 3 year old gourmand) and wine – lots of Purple Moon from the latest run to Trader Joe’s. The Cabernet from Cupcake vineyards was so awful – I couldn’t bring myself to cook with it!

    Then there is the “let’s have breakfast for dinner” and we all ate cereal. Sometimes, the simplest foods win.

  2. I was inspired by your snow day tweet from a couple of weeks ago and have had fried pork chops, mashers, gravy, and frozen sweet corn on the brain ever since! Last night it all came together—oh my such good comfort food! YUM!
    Right now I have split pea soup in the crock pot. I have to share this recipe, because it has a few different ingredients and it is truly the best pea soup I have ever had. (I hope it’s ok to have the world’s longest comment!) Weirdly, I think that the tomato, leek, fresh parsley, and chicken stock make the difference. Whatever the case, it’s divine!

    Karen’s Split Pea Soup
    2 carrots
    2 ribs of celery
    1 onion
    1 parsnip
    1 leek (keep 3″ of green)
    1 ripe tomato
    1 ham hock
    1 3/4 C (1 lb) dried split peas, washed, with stones removed
    2 T olive oil
    1 bay leaf
    1 t dried thyme
    4 c chicken broth
    4 c water
    1 t salt
    1/4 t pepper
    2 t chopped fresh parsley

    Cut all veggies into 1/4″ pieces and place in slow cooker. Add remaining ingredients except salt, pepper and parsley. Cover and cook on high 7 hours. Remove ham hock. Shred meat from bone and return meat to pot. Season with salt and pepper. Stir in parsley.

  3. oh Pam! A tomato???? Hmm… actually I’m trying to imagine it, I’ll bet it sweetens the soup???

    Adding it to my list of things to try — thanks for the recipe!

  4. I know the tomato is weird, but yet, just one chopped up is a nice bite every once in awhile. I am using 1/2 can of tomatoes tonight; even one at the store seemed ridiculous to purchase in Feb! 🙂

  5. Comfort food rules. Cassoulet, chicken pot pie made with Sunday’s leftover tarragon-roasted chicken, oxtail soup, whole wheat bread. Great minds travel the same ruts.

Leave a Reply

