Bucatini carbonara

Think of bucatini as slightly fatter than spaghetti, but with a tunnel through the center. I don’t encounter it often enough, but the Hy-Vee on West Broadway has been carrying an exellent brand recently. It comes in enormous, two-foot cellophane packages and can be found in the same aisle as the rest of the dried pasta. But this stuff – Maestri Pastai, imported from Italy – is outstanding.

Bucatini’s tubular shape lends itself to creamy, bacony sauces, so in a hurry one day last week we whipped up some carbonara. If there’s a dish with a greater return on a limited investment I don’t know what it is.

Simply sautee some bacon and remove, then add sliced shallots (and any shredded greens you might have on hand, like mustards, as in the photo below) and sautee until tender. Boil pasta about 10 minutes, but drain just before al dente (keep some pasta water on hand to loosen the “sauce,” if needed).

Add pasta to the pan with shallots, then add pepper and bacon and toss to coat. Off heat, add a beaten egg or two (depending on how much pasta you’re making) and stir quickly to mix. Serve with graded parmesan. The kids would eat this everyday – and truth be told, so would I.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. Can’t wait to try this one; easier, no doubt, than the pici I’ve hand-rolled. I’m sure everything doesn’t require, nor accept, garlic, but that seems to go here as well-I’m just sayin’

  2. mmmm, carbonara is one of my most favorite dishes…you have given me inspiration for this Sunday playoff day.

    I have never had bucatini! I will pick some up next time, but for tonight there is spaghetti on hand and carbonara coming soon woohoo!

  3. OK, I nearly had a heart attack when I read this thinking, I remember writing this article, but I don’t remember publishing it. And sure enough, the bucatini carbonara draft is still in my wordpress docs, unpublished.

    I made it on Thursday, except I added peas and sauteed porcini mushrooms, as well as pancetta instead of bacon. But the bucatini was perfect. Just perfect.

    OK Scott, get out of my kitchen! LOL

  4. Thanks for the tip, Scott. I usually stock up on bucatini when we’re in St. Louis, and I use it to make bucatini all’amatriciana.

  5. Good stuff Scott- thanks! Made this last night with a little garlic and white wine added, and spinach instead of greens. The whole family approved!

Leave a Reply

