More comings and goings

Bambino’s – as bad a restaurant as will ever hold a place deep within my heart* – was set to open in their Broadway location Tuesday but aren’t answering the phone today.

Side note 1: If this photo actually is of their new interior, yikes. You can have a sleek, contemporary interior or you can have a menu pushing provel cheese and schooners of Bud Light. You cannot have both.

Side note 2: Stock photos? Of a beet and goat cheese salad?

Anyway, as Mrs. SMEs and I left the a farewell dinner at the old location the other night I ran into International Cafe owner Muhammed Gumati, who is likewise being displaced by the property’s lease expiration. Muhammed said he’ll be relocating to 9th Street, between Main Squeeze Cafe and Lakota. The Maneater had a nice profile of him and his wife, a while back:

“I was from Libya,” Mohamed Gumati said. “She was from Venezuela. Between us, we had the freedom to make anything.”

Worth reading in full.

* – Mrs. SMEs and I practically lived at Bambino’s while students at Mizzou. Example: My aunt and uncle once drove up to Columbia to run some errands. Pre-cell phone era, they decided to stop by Bambino’s to see if we were there. Not the fraternity house where I lived or her apartment – at Bambino’s. We were. 

Now we go for the New Yorker sandwiches, which remain excellent. The rest? Well, I leave it to the college kids.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. Maybe you should try going to the new location before you comment on it. I would say that the website obviously looks like it is a work in progress. Sure they have been busy moving locations lately. I went there for dinner last night and it was awesome. Food seemed upgraded and very casual but nice atmosphere.

  2. I am looking forward to a visit to the new location and will probably report back. Regardless, the interior – as presented on their website – seems like a jarring departure from what’s worked for them well enough up to this point.

    Also, I don’t believe restaurant websites should be a work in progress. If it’s not finished, it shouldn’t be live. Besides, “The Blog” section of the website dates the redesign as having taken place in August.

  3. I’m thinking that interior photo is stock art, just like the food photos. I haven’t been in that space for a while, but I can’t think of a spot where the windows are arranged like that. Also the exterior through the windows doesn’t look like downtown Columbia.

    On another pasta note, do you know anything about that Anthony’s Italian Restaurant that’s going into where Fellini was?

Leave a Reply

