Wait, “One Night in Bangkok” was about chess?

Must say I never had a clue…total 80s fail on my part. Here’s hoping two nights in Bangkok next week will help absolve me of my sins.

So far we have reservations at nahm, David Thompson’s brand new (and well-regarded, if controversial) temple to Thai food. We’ll also try to sneak into Atlantic writer Jarrett Wrisley’s cocktail-oriented bar and Thai restaurant, Soul Food Mahanakorn. An evening train departure south on Tuesday may complicate things, but I really want to make it work. I followed Jarrett’s travails trying to get the place open and we’ve chatted via Twitter a few times. Would love to say hi in person.

In between these at least moderately-upscale eatings, I predict a near-constant diet of street food: kanom jeen anywhere, pad khee mao at Jay Fai and noodles, grilled meats and pretty much whatever they’re serving in Chinatown. No reservations required.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

Leave a Reply

