4 Quick Notes:

Mississippi Fish Shack: I hope the new location – in a gas station by Macy’s – works for them. The breading may still be too salty for some, but I’m a fan. I like Kim – who brought my son two additional pieces of fish after he scarfed the others down – even more. I try to imagine that happening at…

Red and Moe: They’re not going to match Lombardi’s in anything but price, but the pizza’s above average and the salad’s not bad. For those wondering about the $15 mussels and odd hours, the former wasn’t worth it on my first try and regarding the latter, the owners own the building. I sense this is a hobby as much as a profit-seeking venture. Also, since it’s counter service, ordering a second beer (or another pizza – they’re not large) means another wait in line. Odd.

Wine Cellar and Bistro: Reliable sources indicate the new fall menu is as good as it looks (even if they do spell “shiitake” incorrectly throughout). Particular raves have gone to the pork belly Wellington. Mmm.

House of Chow: Despite raves from others, I remain a skeptic. Pork with hard tofu was another recent letdown and there was nothing special about Mrs. SMEs’ mu shu pork, either. I want to like the place, but it just keeps coming up short when compared to nearby Mandarin House.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

Leave a Reply

