Counting down the days

Tom yum kai and red curry tilapia at Chim's Thai Kitchen in Jefferson City.

It’s hard to believe but Mrs. SMEs and I have less than a month to go before we head to Thailand for two weeks. Thoughts are naturally turning to all things Thai. Sticking with that theme, a few quick notes:

  • Chim’s Thai Kitchen, currently with outposts at Cooper’s Landing and in Jefferson City, will be opening a third location in the former Casablanca spot in Peachtree Center. The timeframe is “a couple of months,” because there’s quite a bit of work to be done on the building. The Jefferson City location will remain open, while Chim’s at Cooper’s Landing is closing for the season after this weekend.
  • This is good, because the best Thai food I’ve had in Columbia in years was in someone’s home Sunday night. CoMo needs good Thai food in a big, bad way.
  • Below is an actual encounter between me and the travel nurse who’d just given me tetanus, Hepatitis A and flu shots last weeek – along with several prescriptions – before the turning to additional dangers I should be aware of, like pick-pockets and street vendors selling delicious food:

Nurse: “Remember to not eat anything from the street vendors. Or on the floating markets.”

Me: “Um, yeah…”

N: “What?” 

M: “That’s why I’m going to Thailand.”

N: “To eat street vendor food?”

M: “Pretty much.”

N: “That diarrhea medicine’s going to come in handy, then.”

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

6 thoughts

  1. Just played bridge with a woman who’d returned from China & was showing the others in the group pics of the Great Wall and local culture; including, believe it or not, a “Chinatown” area in Beijing. One pic showed a street vendor; her local guide said she wouldn’t eat from them-I had to relate the aforementioned story with the nurse. Great timing!

  2. I thought that the Thai place on Broadway and the Cooper’s Landing place were owned by the same person. I never ate at Cooper’s Landing but the food I had at the Broadway place was so salty that I couldn’t eat it.

  3. I moved here from the San Francisco bay area and I have to say I miss the Thai, the Mexican and the Indian food. I too hope that this place you speak so highly of works out. Holding my breath!

  4. Funny you mentioned diarrhea medicine. The little SME’s were having brats, brussel sprouts, and rice. “Could I have soy sauce?” asked the 1st grader. Sure. Then the 3-yr-old said, “I want lots of soy sauce-then I’ll have diarrhea.” Her big brother said, “Diarrhea is not a good thing.”

  5. Maybe you can have some tea in Thailand from this guy:

    We ate ate the Thai place here in town for the first time yesterday. We had never had Thai food so we split a Pad Thai and a Sesame Chicken. Both very tasty. When asked for the hotness level from a scale of 1 to 10, we said a 3. But we could probably have gone down to a 1. We’re not to big on “hot spicy”.

Leave a Reply

