Green beans with red wine vinaigrette

Sometimes Mrs. SMEs likes to throw me a curveball. Such was the case the other night when – with a brisket in the smoker and her favorite potatoes in the oven (is that not enough?) – she requested green beans, but without bacon.

“Green beans without bacon?” I thought. “Is that even possible?”

Yes it is, friends, and they were good enough to earn “best green beans ever” plaudits from said requestor. Here’s how I made them.

Green beans with cherry tomatoes and red wine vinagrette

2 lbs green beans, snapped in half
Whatever remaining tomatoes you have in your pathetic garden, seeded and chopped (optional)
1/2 cup of finely chopped chives
1 cup of vinaigrette (3-1 ratio of oil to red wine vinegar, or to taste)
Lots of salt and fresh-cracked pepper
Small handful of basil, thinly sliced

Drop beans into heavily salted, boiling water and cook until just tender. This should be five minutes or less…do not overcook. Drain green beans and run cool water over them for 30 seconds or so. Toss with tomatoes, vinaigrette, chives, salt and pepper. Taste for seasoning, correct, and then toss with basil. Eat.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. We usually don’t eat them with bacon, mostly because we don’t have any bacon…I wish I knew where to get some. (This joke just never gets old, and yes for 99.9% of blog readers, this is an inside joke)

    I’ll blanch them and then saute in butter and add a splash of acid at the end. I’ve also added leftover cilantro lime butter that i’ve made for corn on the cob, and that’s good too.

    But boy, there sure is nothing better than bacon.

  2. I love pig. Really. But i’ve never been a fan of green beans and bacon. Usually the beans have been completly murdered and their only purpose is to make the bacon “healthy.”

    I’d rather eat my bacon, and then take a bite of perfectly al dente green beans.

    Anyway: I never thought of this combo and will try Sunday. I have a fresh bottle of luccini’s pino noir vin I’ve been looking to use 🙂

  3. Green beans and bacon works pretty well, but I just crisp the bacon, toss in the green beans and a little onion (plus lots of salt) and cook until barely done. You’re right, usually the beans and the bacon are murdered.

    Ryan, you can pick up your bacon whenever you’re ready at the corner of Go F Yourself Blvd. and DB Street. 😉

  4. Hey I know someone who lives at that corner! You may know him, he has the same name as you and looked exactly like you.

Leave a Reply

