Men with guns

In preparation for quail season (and the coming zombie apocalypse), I’m in the market for a shotgun. Would need to be a good, all-purpose and entry-level weapon. I doubt I’ll venture much beyond small game and duck…maybe turkey someday. Any recommendations?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. A Remington model 870 is a good place to start – a nice pump action gun that is very versatile and reliable. Check with the guys at Powder Horn or go to Bass Pro. Good luck with the birds this fall.

  2. Also had a recommendation via Twitter for the Weatherby SA-08. I’m a little late to get all this taken care of this season, but we’ll see.

  3. I second the Powderhorn recommendation for a good local source of advice and purchase. You might also consider going to a local gun show, there should be at least one more coming up before deer season opens in Nov; usually at the fairgrounds.

  4. I too am an occasional bird hunter and decided on a Mossberg 500 pump. It came with a 28″ and a 18.5″ slug barrel for $220 several years back. If you shop around you can find deals for not much more than that last I checked. I recently found out that Mossberg has a black powder barrel for that gun too. That intrigues me a tad.

Leave a Reply

