Red and Moe is open

Today is opening day for Red and Moe, a pizza joint with a promisingly-focused menu and one of Columbia’s nicest spaces.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. I don’t think they were interested in getting mobbed by Summerfesters on their first day. So why open today at all? I guess getting at least a lunch service in would help them.

  2. But I’m eager. And tomorrow I have plans, Friday is a fast for me, and and and and …I have to wait until next week because they are closed Monday and Tuesday! I hope my excitement is fulfilled when I finally get there.

  3. They called last week, on a reference from another restaurant we work with, asking what we could start selling them. I felt bad to have to turn them down, as our season is winding down and we don’t have a lot of spare product that isn’t slated for market or existing restaurants. I hope to meet with them over the winter to discuss growing plans for spring, but they’re certainly making the local effort from our perspective. Hope it works; they’re in a tight marketplace.

  4. One of the big things to their advantage is that they own that building. It’s one of the few cases of a restaurant or retail space downtown that will never depend on it’s revenue to pay outrageous downtown level rents.

    I wasn’t able to go to the friends and family soft opening, but a friend snuck me a slice of margarita pizza and even 3 hours cold, it was really, really good.

  5. Pam, I thought the exact same thing tonight. Red and Moe is counter service only, so you have to walk back up to buy more drinks. If there’s someone in line, you wait. Not the end of the world, and the food is promising, but they definitely have some advantages.

Leave a Reply

