Weekly Wrap

The backlash against “coffee campers” continued. Bourdain went back to Beirut (and once it got to the food, was drool-inducing). Um, just because you can put edible silver on a pizza, doesn’t mean you should. “Foochebag” entered the culinary lexicon, and is perfect. I found some advice for getting Taco Boat off the ground. Eataly opened its doors in New York. Jackwagon BBQ got a home.

We’re headed to St. Louis for the holiday weekend. Enjoy yours.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. I have been known to camp from time to time, but I always purchase at least a coffee. If I stay past a meal time, I’ll buy that meal. Typically, I get a coffee (after breakfast at home) and buy lunch. On long days, I’ll get an additional coffee in the afternoon with a cookie or some other baked good. I don’t get the idea of hurting coffee shops and bakeries we love by taking up their seating all day.

  2. I think it’s a balance. If there’s tons of chairs/tables available, sit and sip away. But if they’re packed at lunchtime and the campers are taking up valuable space, I can understand the proprietor shooing folks away.

  3. Just a little common sense and courtesy will go a long way on all ends – proprietor/camper/meal customer.

    BTW: this was not what first came to mind when when I read: “backlash against “coffee campers”. : )

Leave a Reply

