Columbia Taco Throwdown

Kate at CapturingCoMo was kind enough to have Mrs. SMEs and I over for a blind taste-test of a few Columbia tacos last night. The takeaway is that I think Taqueria Guadalajara may be the real deal. And that Kate makes excellent salsa.

(Also, my erroneous guess was actually that Carlito’s tacos were from El Rancho, but everyone involved deserves a break…beers were involved.)

Tasting notes:

La Siesta: Pork carnitas taco nicely pulls off the crusty/tender thing well, but were very salty. Their asada taco tasted like something from Captain D’s…that weird fryer taste/smell. Odd.

Taqueria Guadalajara: Very nice tortillas, both meats were good. Asada a bit limey, but that may have been our fault.

Carlito’s: Pork taco tasted of chemicals, crunchy beef taco of not much at all. I do still like their regular asada tacos, but we didn’t taste those.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

Leave a comment