I tried Taco Bell’s cantina tacos (so you don’t have to)

I’ll give Taco Bell credit, their new “cantina tacos” look like the real deal. Cilantro and onion and corn tortillas. And the limes! (Apparently others were giving them a shot as well – the cars were 15 deep in the Jefferson City drive-thru and the inside was packed)

But eventually you have to eat them – and that’s where the problems start. With hot sauce and lime juice I was able to get through most of the carnitas taco, but the asada and chicken tacos were dreadful. The kind of flavorless, laboratory-generated nothing you’d expect from Taco Bell. Blindfolded, I doubt you’d be able to tell the difference between meats. I tossed them in the trash and headed 200 yards down the road to Guadalajara (in Jefferson City) and their real tacos – lengua, pastor, etc. and only $.30 more per taco than at T-Bell.

Naturally, four other people were in the place.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. We went to Guadalajara the other night and it was pretty busy. In fact, it took forever to get our food. I’ll chalk it up to opening jitters.

  2. I had these for lunch today as well. The steak was hard to chew. The pork was the best although I got cheated on the amount of meat in them. The chicken was ok. I understand why they pack two soft corn tortillas in there (very thin), but I used only one on each. The flavor of the tortilla was ok and not great.

    Like Scott, I used the lime and taco sauce.

    Over all, I would rather eat this type of food at a more notable establishment. However, I was at the mall AND Taco Bell, so with that in mind, it was ok, but not great. Their Fresco (?) tacos are better. I will not rush to Taco Bell to get seconds any time soon. However, if I was there, I might order another pork or chicken one. I got to pretend I was having street food on a street that was not noted for it’s street food. : )

  3. I saw these at the Como mall on Friday but had already ordered a $2 meal with the double taco. good thing as I would have been tempted.

Leave a Reply

