“First rain, now heat causes grumbling among growers”

“What I’m picking today we should have had two or three weeks ago, that’s how far behind we are,” Rogers said of his tomatoes.

I think I’m even more behind than this guy in the Star today. Our little 160 square-foot garden is still limping along, producing a couple of tomatoes a week (from 8 plants!) and barely enough cukes to keep us busy. Hot peppers are totally stunted and my zucchini plants have perished without ever producing a single fruit.

Normally available in June, I haven’t seen much sweet corn available until a few weeks ago; my column tomorrow will put it to good use. The whole thing is a good reminder of how difficult it is to make a living growing food. Thank you, farmers.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. I was worried I was doing something wrong!

    Got only 3 tomatoes so far from my 3 tomato plants, habaneros aren’t even flowering yet, string beans have some puny flowers after having to start completely over when they got toasted in the sun. My strawberries, on the other hand are finally flowering for the first time, and they’re going CRAZY.

    Even my flowers that usually do fantastic in the summer heat are looking sad. My cosmos haven’t even budded, and I usually have blooms in early July. I finally trimmed down the marguerite daisies, they just weren’t handling the heat and what flowers there were looked wimpy.

  2. Dear Weather –

    Since you’re obviously a fan of this blog, can you make sunny and 80 next week in Wichita? Thanks,

    Ryan

  3. Ryan,

    No can do, big guy – I don’t take requests from Kansas. But I would stay away from trailer parks if I were you. Just an fyi.

    -The Weather

Leave a Reply

