Cucumber and canteloupe smoothie

After a light dinner last night I found myself in need of a late-night snack. Knowing that a half of a canteloupe from a week ago and several cucumbers fresh from the garden were close at hand, I whipped up a smoothie…one that was actually healthy and tasty. I had the leftovers for breakfast this morning. Very nice.

Cucumber and canteloupe smoothie

1/2  cantaloupe, very ripe*
2 medium-small (6-inch) cucumbers, chopped*
Juice of half a lemon
1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
1 tablespoon honey*
Cayenne pepper (a nice touch, I used about 1/2 teaspoon)
1/2 – 1 cup water

Throw all this stuff in a blender and turn it on. Then drink it. The recipe I found online said this makes 2 servings, but I’d say more like 3-4.

* – available at the farmers market

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. That’s cantaloupe, not canteloupe, but nonetheless, sounds yummy! I love cantaloupes! Or as some people quaintly call it: “mushmelon”…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

