Missouri First Lady’s Pie Contest

Outside of Lahey’s no-knead bread, I simply don’t bake. Too many rules, too much precision, too little room for error. I like to wing it in the kitchen – a recipe for disaster when it comes to baking. End result: I’ve never made a single pie. I do like to eat pie, however, and the First Lady’s Pie Contest at the State Fair on August 19th will be a good place to hang out for anyone else who feels the same way.

Additional info after the jump:

Peaches, blackberries, apples, blueberries, strawberries and rhubarb, oh my! There’s never a bad time to bake a pie. And if you need an extra incentive, Missouri First Lady Georganne Nixon’s pie contest is just around the corner.

Amateur bakers across Missouri are digging up their favorite recipes to bake some memories at the First Lady’s Pie Contest, Aug. 19 at the Missouri State Fair. And you can bake some memories too!  The contest deadline has been extended to Aug. 12 giving bakers even more time to gather their favorite recipes and gear up for the competition. 

The First Lady’s Pie Contest is open to all amateur bakers and will be held Thurs., Aug. 19 at the Home Economics Building on the Missouri State Fairgrounds. You can enter by simply submitting your recipe and official Missouri State Fair entry form no later than Aug. 12. Pies in two categories, soft pies (custard/cream) and fruit pies, will be awarded cash prizes of up to $150. The Best of Show will receive $150.

For more information or to obtain an official entry form, visit MoStateFair.com.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. I’m sorry…wha? wha, wha, wha, you don’t like pie? how can one not like pie? How will I ever be able to look you in the eye ever again, knowing that you do not like this perfect combination of pastry crust and fruit or chocolate or my favorite pecan? How can I in good conscious continue to tell everyone I know about, “my favorite food blogger”? I am having a very low moment right now and I must go and contemplate this, this, this, THING!

  2. Easy there, Pam, calm yourself: he just said he’d never MADE a pie, but likes to EAT them. So I think S is still “credible” as a food blogger… ha!

    But I’ve got one to top that: an embarrassing (at least it would be to me) fact about my girlfriend who’s never eaten a piece of pie!!! Can you believe that?!?! She has lots of food phobias, to say the least, and apparently eating pie is one of them. What a shame! I favor cream pies myself.

  3. ok, apparently my reading skills need a refresher lolololol you know how much I adore you Scott; I was just giving you grief 🙂

Leave a Reply

