Coming to the Roots ‘n Blues ‘n BBQ Festival: Jackwagon BBQ

For years I’ve toyed with the idea of entering the barbeque contest at the Roots ‘n Blues ‘n BBQ Festival. It’d be worth it, if only to have a place to sit down Friday night and have a freaking beer and some decent barbeque (Why is it none of the bbq festivals I’ve gone to make it easy to actually purchase and consume the featured product? It’s criminal.).

Well, this year a buddy and I have registered for the contest. We will be “Jackwagon BBQ.” Our goal: avoid last place.

What is a “jackwagon?” We don’t really know. But this is the inspiration:

Now we just need to figure out what the hell we’re doing…

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. Love the commercial-every time I see it-and your adaptation. Looking forward to the R&B BBQ. Good luck

  2. In other news, Scott Rowson was reported to have been seen purchasing a case of Maull’s BBQ sauce, hot dogs and chicken thighs at the local Sam’s Club. When asked to comment, Rowson replied, “Our plan? We’re not going to baste our BBQ, we’re going to Maull it…”

  3. My understanding is that you usually can’t get BBQ for the public to eat at a BBQ competition because of health code issues. American Royal finally figured out how to deal with it, but I don’t know the specifics. Apparently it’s ok if the judges get ptomaine, but not the paying public.

  4. Ryan, you got me. I think we should freeze some hot dogs, run ’em through the grater attachment on the food processor and turn it is as “pulled pork.”

    Cyrano, you’re right, competition bbq-ers can’t sell their wares because they’re not licensed (though I suppose you could give it away). I just get ticked off when there are one or two vendors at a bbq festival selling ‘que. I’m surrounded by all this smoke and meat and I can’t have any. Aggravating. So this is my loophole…

  5. I just wanted to say “Maull it!”

    I loved those commercials in the 80’s, you know what I’m talking about!

  6. Pam, we’ll definitely need some tasting help Friday evening if you want to stop by. We can fine tune the recipe for the overnight smoke.

Leave a Reply

