“Kill the Ground Zero Mosque”

“On Sept. 11, they declared war against us. And to celebrate that murder of 3,000 Americans, they want to build a monstrous 13-story mosque at Ground Zero.”

Watch this, and die a little bit inside. Thankfully, CBS and NBC have refused to air the ad. Setting aside issues like free enterprise (being able to build what you want on land you buy, within zoning limits), the planned mosque is a few blocks away. Are we to have a no-mosque rule for the area around Ground Zero? Okay, where’s it start? Four blocks? Eight?

Crazy.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

16 thoughts

  1. You know, you might see things a little differently if you would eat some real American food (microwaved, pre-cooked mac and cheese, for instance) instead of mamafoku this and kofta that. Seriously, expect a little blowback, because you’re indirectly disputing that there’s a cultural war on between Us and Them and We’re the Christians and They Hate Us because of it.

  2. Well-played, Cyrano. I’ll see if I can mainline some cheap carbs and summon more rage about this. 😉

    I don’t think it’s a culture war, I think there’s an actual war. Only in this case, “Them” is a relatively small band of death-fetishizing lunatics, not some people trying to open a place of worship in New York City.

  3. I didn’t watch the ad, but step back and view the situation as someone who lost a loved one in the twin towers. I think it’s a huge lack of sensitivity on the part of the mosque builders. New York is huge- choose somewhere else.

    It would be like if there was a Nazi memorial outside of Auschwitz.

  4. I think another location would have been preferable, just not mandatory. The Nazi analogy only works if this was doing to be an Al Qaeda training center. As it stands, it’s a place for Muslims (ie, not terrorists) to worship.

  5. Maybe…But whether it’s right or wrong, if my loved one(s) was/were killed by anyone associated with ANY religion, I wouldn’t want a place of worship or anything remotely associated with the group built next to their final resting place. I think we can all agree on that.

    It’s a worse-than-sucks situation where political correctness + money will no doubt win out. And if you disagree, you are a homophobic racist who builds Wal-Marts on Native American burial sites.

  6. From what I’ve read on the topic, the purpose of siting the mosque there is precisely to help rebuild relationships between moderate Islam and the West. It is intended to be right there exactly to make the point that the two cultures can coexist if rational people, rather than fear and misunderstanding, prevail. As soon as we begin shutting away the “other” into their proper place out of view of “real Americans”, we lose something of the freedom that America stands for.

    I’ve always felt that one aspect of the American dream is to be judged by yourself and your own actions, not by those of your parents or your class or your nationality or your religion. While one’s choice of associates affects that judgement, one cannot also control the actions of countless others. I don’t renounce my American citizenship when my country does something wrong, even horrible (which we have), and I don’t expect moderate Muslims to stop being Muslims because others abuse its teachings.

    So I thoroughly disagree with Observer; I don’t see 9/11 as an attack perpetrated by Islam any more than OKC as an attack perpetrated by Christianity. We need to keep our focus on the subsets of people who do/encourage these sorts of atrocities, not the larger populations they diverge from. To me, this mosque’s success or failure as an instrument of peace, outreach, and dialogue will rely as heavily on the character of the American people as on the character of the mosque’s founders. And like all other nations and groups, we’re showing ourselves to be of mixed quality. Room for hope, and room for improvement.

    On a personal note, having visited Ground Zero multiple times during the months following the attack, while the smoke was still rising and dust still blew and the hastily-erected wooden fences bore photos and notes and drawings of this missing…I’d have no problem seeing a peaceful mosque in the same line of sight, saying “we, too, are people who build rather than destroy, and we want to be a part of this country.” And hope that it was true.

  7. In this so-called war between Us and Them, it’s equally important to define “Us.” This is a part of our own culture war, advanced for purposes here by those who posit that “America is a Christian nation.” Christianity and Islam will always have a hard time coexisting, since both advocate proselytization and conversion. But leave me, and my country, out of your religious war.

  8. I can see this is a one-view welcome website. I came for the food, but will leave because of politics.

  9. Observer,

    Do you feel attacked, or unwelcome? It didn’t seem to me that any other poster here disparaged you, only politely disagreed. I mean that as an honest question. If we can’t even discuss such a topic in this neutral, pseudo-anonymous venue, where can it be discussed? Are we so afraid of difference in this country that rationally stated opinions cannot be voiced at all for fear of offense?

    And I thought of a different, and more succint way to make the point I wanted to make: the existence and actions of Fred Phelps and Westboro Baptist Church in no way justifies a ban on churches near military cemetaries.

  10. Observer’s probably responding to the fact that their 11:39 am comment was held up by WordPress filters for “Approval,” probably because it contained multiple links. Anyway, I have to do that manually and hadn’t seen it until now (work and all). So, there you have it.

  11. I think the people opposing this seem to be ignoring the fact that there were muslims who were killed in the attacks on the World Trade Center. Not terrorists, but average everyday people who were just going to work when they were murdered.

  12. Observer,

    Even granting your claims of a radical Islamic connection to OKC for the sake of argument, this completely misses the deeper point. These are all actions undertaken by a fringe subset of Islam, in exactly the same way that Westboro Baptist is a fringe subset of the wider Baptist church and countless other loonies are subsets of larger nationalities/religions/groups.

    As Scott noted, if the mosque in question was openly or demonstrably advocating or backing violent, radical Islam, we’d be having a different discussion, just as if Westboro wanted to build a new church next to Arlington National Cemetary. However, that’s simply not the case, and conflating “mosque” with “radical Islam” is a very unfortunate mistake.

    Perhaps this is the true political difference here, but I simply don’t consider “Muslim” and “violent” to be synonyms.

  13. Observer is pregnant and moody and didn’t see the “pending approval” comments until after my last set was made. Apologizes to the webmaster. :o)

    Back to the discussion…I am very aware that the 9/11 mass murderers were part of a fringe group of radical islamsists. All muslims are not terrorists just like all conservatives do not follow and/or revere Ann Coulter. It’s a fact. Really. However, I still personally think it is in poor taste to build a mosque at ground zero. In fact, I don’t think they should build anything on ground zero. It is a mass grave that should not be disturbed. And for the record, I would feel the same if the westboro nutjobs built a “church” near a military cemetery.

  14. As Scott notes in the header, it’s not “on” Ground Zero, it’s two blocks away. I’d much prefer to leave the actual site open as a park or other memorial and deeply dislike the development plans for the giant tower. So perhaps we’re closer on this than initially appeared. But I see nothing at all offensive about a peaceful mosque two blocks away.

  15. @Eric- you beat me to the punch! I just logged on to correct myself because I realized that I said it was going to be on Ground Zero and it’s not. I think I need to have someone edit my posts before they go live. This retraction business is quite embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

