BBQs of the world

I have had hit-or-miss luck at The Wine Cellar’s special event dinners, but this still caught my eye:

BBQ’s of the World!
A globally inspired five-course BBQ dinner highlighting the many different flavors of BBQ!
Prepare your taste buds… BBQ is the fireworks of food!
Sunday, July 11th
$45 per person, wine pairings available

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. No BBQ in Amsterdam, but great Italian food (2-2 on dinners properly portioned so take-home not needed), unbelievably reasonable prices on great wine and amazing beer, (each in a glass bearing its name). Trappist monks really know how to brew quality beer-Mrs. OAE has enjoyed several “blonds” while I prefer the “duppels” or “tripels” that are “brunes”.

    1 for 2 on Dutch dinners after the match against Slovakia. We’ve passed by the coffee shops CoMoAmanda alluded to but as you surmised, have not partaken. We’re going to a Thai place tonight.

    We’ve seen many great things in Europe but the best for us, is how the restaurants in Amsterdam take their tables outside in the evening for dinner-yes taking up sidewalk space-oh no! It was accompanied Sunday night by a young woman singing opera backed by accordian and violin at a neighboring restaurant for all to enjoy. To boot, you can savor your meal all evening with no expectation of leaving until your ready. There are more bikes than cars in Amsterdam-and I haven’t heard honking horns or subwoofers yet. But I digress…

  2. This really isn’t the correct place on your blog to be asking…BUT I am convinced I read somewhere that Hong Kong market has Banh Mi brought in on Saturdays from St. Louis. Did I just dream this up, or does it sound plausible? Thanks!

  3. Jssp, I’ve heard that this is true about Hong Kong market getting the banh mi shipped in from STL on Saturdays, but unfortunately, I have not yet investigated this for myself, but I should, because I love a good banh mi and they are not to be found in Columbia, otherwise. If you find out for sure, please post about what you thought about it. Would love to know how good they are! (And if they get them from Banh Mi So No. 1 on South Grand in St. Louis City, they’ll be wonderful.)

Leave a Reply

