Range recommendations

We’re through with our flat top electric range and are going to convert to gas. I’ve got my eye on a GE and a Kenmore, but that’s only based on ConsumerReports.org. Thoughts. Recommendations? And even though this counts as a Father’s Day present, no Viking suggestions, please.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. Just converted from flatglass to gas last fall. Love it!

    I grabbed up a Kenmore continuous grate model that was a slashed-price floor “demo” model, less than half the original price. Can’t say enough nice things about it. I have a back simmer burner, a front power burner, and excellent regulation. My only complaint is that one of my igniters doesn’t work, but because it was a floor model, I had to take it as-is. Turns out, it’s really not a problem. I keep a BBQ lighter in the kitchen anyway, so I just use it to light that burner.

    I assume you’re buying the whole range, and not a cooktop? If not, and you’re in the market for a cooktop and can accommodate a 36-incher, I saw a fabulous looking five burner Kenmore that I would have snapped up in a minute, if I had more than 30 inches of space to spare (darn these mid-century kitchens).

  2. I got my first gas range 10 years ago. Will not go back to electric! Last year, I got a GE Cafe gas range, when the Jenn Air died. I’m not unhappy with it, but wouldn’t recommend it, either. The grates are asymmetrical, so you have to pay more attention to whether the pot is centered over the burner. The grates are also a little taller than they need to be, so the fire is farther from the bottom of the pan. OTOH, the second, lower oven is marvelous and I have found dozens of uses for it.

    Happy Father’s Day!

  3. I sell kitchen appliances for Downtown Appliance in Columbia. Our favorites for features and service history are GE and Frigidaire. I would recommend a dual fuel (gas top and electric oven) since you already have electric there. The Cafe model mentioned earlier is a great model, but kind of pricey, so be sure to also check out the GE Profile line too. Good luck with your search and come see me if you need any help.

Leave a Reply

