My best idea ever

It’s called Taco Boat. I anchor a small barge/large pontoon boat in a cove near the main channel at the Lake of the Ozarks and serve Taqueria-style tacos to the passing boats. Oh, and I drink Negra Modelos and listen to Jimmy Buffett all day long. Totally failsafe.

Oh, and anyone know a good source for wholesale marine fire extinguishers?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

21 thoughts

  1. lol thinking ‘best idea ever’ would incorporate a better selection of beer. If you decide to upgrade, I’ll be your first mate…or at least a regular eating tacos and karaoking Buffett.

  2. Negra Modelo is my go-to Mexican beer, but I’m open to suggestions. When we’ve been in Mexico the locals seem to prefer Sol, which is fine beach beer but probably won’t please you either.

    And we’ll need fried catfish tacos too, for the local flavor.

  3. Avoid the Mexican beer all together and instead go with a fish theme…maybe something from Ballast Point (like their sculpin IPA or yellowtail) or Flying Fish Brewery (hopfish IPA).

  4. Because I like you, I will be your taste tester.

    Negro Modelo lovers unite! Sometimes it’s the right choice. Though I will admit, after four or five a day in Mexico I switch to Sol or Pacifica.

  5. oh, please please don’t joke about things like this. a taco boat would change my world in a serious way. requesting this phantom boat more toward the north side of the main channel, near my chosen lake squatting home.

  6. The fire extinguishers are for the grease and propane fires that would surely doom any such venture in real life.

    As for theme songs, we need nominations. Since I’ve already mentioned Buffett, I’ll toss “A Pirate Looks at Forty” because it kicks ass, and frankly, because it includes the word “pirate.”

    Buena Vista Social Club would be in heavy rotation. What else?

  7. We’d HAVE to hit party cove. Makes perfect business sense: a boat load of 20-something girls eat a lot of jello shots, then want to eat a lot of tacos, OUR tacos.

  8. I know, right?! I’m excited! Let’s make a list of what we need:
    -Time
    -Money
    -Boat
    -Groceries

    Pretty much a slam dunk.

  9. What do you think a fair price would be for our tacos? I’m thinking $4 each or 3 for $10. They’re charging $6 around town for 3 of them, I don’t think $10 is bad!

Leave a Reply

