Taco love

There are few meals in town – in the world, really – better than three good tacos topped with onion and cilantro and an ice cold Negra Modelo on the side. Heaven for under ten bucks. Carlito’s, Los Cuates and Taqueria El Rodeo have long been favorite taco destinations of mine. Add La Terraza to the list. They’re two dollars a piece and Mexico-City-street-food-authentic, served on small, griddled corn tortillas. The pastor in particular was a standout. Reportedly they have homemade blue corn tortillas on the weekends.

Meanwhile, CapturingCoMo isn’t sold.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. We had a suboptimal experience at Terraza last Friday night– slow service, some food was cold, they forgot to bring any tortillas with the carne en su jugo. Otherwise, the food was fine. They were full and seemed swamped, so I’ll chalk it up to growuing pains. I told Christian’s wife (forget her name) without being critical or angry as we left, so they’ll know there’s a problem.

  2. I loved the pastor tacos and burritos I’d get in California. Hard to find here and when I stumbled on it at El Rodeo I was excited. However, they were totally different and they actually made me gag. I do not know what they put on the meat but it was very unappetizing. I have never had to walk away from a meal but I did. I thought maybe it was a bad day so I tried it again a year later and could not eat it then either. This time I just had one taco though.

    So, I’d like to know if La Terraza and El Rodeo have the same pastor or is it different? I really would like to find something close to what I learned to love in California.

  3. Since I’ve read a few negative reviews lately and thought that our first visit might have been a fluke, we decided to head back to La Terraza once again yesterday for dinner. And again, my wife and I walked away very happy. The first time we went, there were only a few patrons on hand, but this time around the place was packed. No issues with the food in general (highly recommend the burrito michoacan – as good as Taq. El Rodeo) and the service was excellent once again.

  4. I went on Friday for lunch. The place was dead and I’ll admit that the service was slow and not very good. However, the food was good. Barbacoa was just ok, but the pastor and asada tacos were good. Chips were very “corny” and the salsa was almost exactly like Taqueria. All in all I’ll go back for sure.

Leave a Reply

