Chive soup

If you’ve planted chives before you have your hands full right now. These hardy perennials began shooting up more than a month ago and are now bush-like, with their pretty purple flowers adorning the tops of a healthy minority of the shoots. If you don’t grow them on your own they’re plentiful at the farmers market. This recipe blessedly required the hacking off of half of my chives. And it’s good. With crisped, home-cured bacon, it gets even better.

Chive soup

2 Tb canola or olive oil

1 lb. potatoes, peeled and chopped into 1-inch cubes

8 oz. chives, cut into 1-inch pieces

2 cups good chicken stock

2 cups whole milk

Salt and pepper

4  Tb. butter (or better yet, bacon grease)

Bacon

Chive flowers

Heat oil in pan over medium heat and add potatoes, stirring to coat. Add salt and pepper. When sizzling add stock and stir. Cover and cook for 15-20 minutes or until the potatoes are very tender. Stir in butter or bacon fat. Add chives, then potato mixture to a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Add milk, stir and serve chilled, with crisped bacon and chive flowers as a garnish. Remember, bacon makes this really, really good. Add more.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

9 thoughts

  1. My, what timing you have. I’ve been growing my own chives and would love to put them front and center in a recipe!

    However, can you give me an idea how much is 8oz and how much soup this makes? I’ve only got an overflowing flower pot’s worth to work with.

    Thanks!

  2. I use weight measurements when possible because it’s more precise, especially for things like chives. If I say two cups of chives are those two cups packed chives or just kind of sitting there chives? So, 8oz is half a pound…most likely this would be 3-4 cups of sliced chives lightly packed.

    Still, I recommend a kitchen scale.

    As far as total volume goes, I’d say I ended up with about 8 cups of soup.

  3. After your asinine “Drill Baby Drill” post I thought I would point out that you used the wrong version of they’re (their) on your most recent post. Karma is a bitch.

  4. When we sell chives at market, we’ve found that a bundle about the diameter of a nickel weighs about an ounce. That’s for chives about a foot long. Not exactly accurate either, but it gives you a rough sense.

    Another way to use chives is to make fresh curry/chili paste, which I intend to write up soon on my blog: chop up a whole bunch of garlic and/or onion chives, then mash them in a mortar & pestle with some ginger, hot pepper, olive oil, soy sauce, and any spices you prefer. Makes a strong, green, and tasty paste which flavors Asian/Indian dishes nicely and can also be used as a condiment, for example with spring rolls. With the right spicing, you could probably get something similar to Wasabi.

  5. Ever contrary, I doubled the recipe, it was so good; and froze a couple of containers. After a couple of days in the fridge, the flavour was only better. I ate it hot the second time, and that works too, as does adding a bit of shaved mozza or cheddar as well as a few bacon bits for a little different twist. Thanks from North of the 49th, where I had so many chives I didn’t know what to do like the old lady who lived in a shoe.

Leave a Reply

