Cauliflower frittata

Wednesday was snack day in my office this week. A day when I stuff myself with trashy but irresistible faux-food. Donuts, twice-candied popcorn, Rotel cheese dip, that kind of delicious nastiness. I usually try to contribute something reasonably healthy, if only to allay my own guilt from cramming doctored Chex mix in my face all day (one person, thank God, did bring fruit). This however, was awesome, guilt or no guilt. You can serve it warm, but I really liked it at room temp.

Cauliflower Frittata

Adapted from Red, White and Greens: The Italian Way with Vegetables

1 lb. cauliflower
4 TB olive oil
1 small onion
Sea salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmigianno
5 eggs (Austin’s and Share-Life are my personal favorites right now)
2 TB chopped Italian parsley

Detach the florets from the cauliflower and chop into half-inch pieces.

Drizzle 2 tablespoons of olive oil over the chopped onions in a skillet and stir. Cook over medium heat until golden.

Add the cauliflower, salt and pepper and partially cover. Cook about 15-20 minutes, until tender. Remove cauliflower/onion mix to a bowl.

Mix the grated cheese, eggs and parsley with the cauliflower/onion mixture.

Heat remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium low heat and add the egg/cauliflower mixture. Cook over low heat until eggs set on the side of the pan but are runny on the surface. Either flip over and finish cooking or, more likely, pop in a 450-degree oven for 3-5 minutes to finish…better to leave in under than overcooked.

Slide onto platter, cut into wedges and serve warm or at room temperature. Sprinkle with more parsley or, if you’re a real fucking showoff, some of the chive blossoms you clipped from your garden that morning. Then grab one of your coworker’s pecan-on-melted-Rollo-and-pretzel thingys.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

2 thoughts

  1. How can you find donuts, twice-candied popcorn, Rotel cheese dip, etc irresistible? I find most of it disgusting, mostly not for being unhealthy, but because they just taste awful! I love your frittata, I’ll try to make it this weekend.

  2. Some of it was pretty bad. But the half-melted Rollos on pretzels…I bet I had six. Nasty and cheap, but they sang that HFCS siren song real good.

    I think you’ll like the frittata.

Leave a Reply

