Cookbook envy

Through some herculean force of will I was able to put Thomas Keller’s renowned Ad Hoc at Home back on the bookshelf the other day. Arguably the best cookbook of the year, it has been spoken of in glowing terms by none other than Mike Odette – high praise indeed. But while I wait for Father’s Day to roll around (hint, hint), I could really use a good vegetarian cookbook or two. Current veggie-focused tomes on my shelf include:

Red, White and Greens: The Italian Way with Vegetables
Fields of Greens: New Vegetarian Recipes from the Celebrated Greens Restaurant
Starting with Ingredients

Each are good in their own way, but none are totally getting the job done. Taking suggestions. Moosewood?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

7 thoughts

  1. I’ve got 2 Moosewood cookbooks and Ad Hoc at Home if you want to borrow any of the above. Matter of fact, we might be able to arrange a temporary trade for Momofuku!

  2. I love “Vegetarian Cooking For Everyone” by Deborah Madison. It was my go to book at the Bistro for inspiration for a veggie option and at home it is my go to book for a clue as to what to do with some not-normal-for-me veggies from the Farmer’s Market

    And it’s hefty and I have been known to keep it near my bed in case of intruders, I mean, looking up recipes before falling asleep.

    I like Moosewood, but she loves lentils WAY more than I do

  3. I hear a lot of good things about Madison’s book…may check it out at the library for a trial run.

    Ryan, I’ll take you up on that.

  4. the library is an excellent idea and if you like it, then go with a used one from Amazon or BB or something, because as much as I like it, I don’t feel I use it enough for retail pricing 🙂

  5. Our top 2 by far are Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone and Moosewood on Sundays. THere are lots of Moosewood books and they’re somewhat uneven. If you get started with the wrong one you’ll feel it’s too limited and won’t want to explore more. Sundays is wide-ranging, always quality, and an excellent tour of world cuisine in its own right. It’s probabaly our most dog-eared cookbook after Joy of Cooking.

    Finally, it’s very easy to add meat back into many of the recipes, as I like to do. They’re of very high quality to begin with, and so adding a bit of flesh back in just takes it up a bit higher.

Leave a Reply

