I may have been a bit harsh…

Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution isn’t as bad as the first episode indicated. Less melodrama; more actual cooking. Watch here.

Meanwhile, the Child Nutrition Act – which reauthorizes school lunches – is making its way through Congress. Marion Nestle hits the highlights,

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

One thought

  1. I watched episode 3 with my vegetable-shunning 10-year-old, and even he was appalled that limp, greasy fries and “optional salad” should count as sufficient vegetable content when a noodle dish full of cabbage, carrots, etc. did not. More importantly, he thought Jamie was cool. So afterward, when I asked if I could add a few carrots to his lunchbox (previously he’d eat fruit, but not vegetables), he said I could — and furthermore, he’s actually been eating them. Then the other night we had stir-fry (with cauliflower, carrots, and sliced broccoli stems) and he offered, “For a dish with all these vegetables, this isn’t too bad.” For O, that’s big progress! So vive le revolution, I say…

Leave a Reply

