A Capital Experience

Mrs. SMEs, the 6 year-old and I are heading this weekend to Washington, D.C. for five days. We lived there for six years and it’s going to be great hitting our old stomping grounds-I haven’t been in more than two years. Naturally, the entire trip is built – after my conference work – around friends and food.

We hope to make it to:

  • Bistro du Coin
  • Jaleo
  • Pizzeria Paradiso
  • Zaytinya
  • Lebanese Taverna

Not a bad start, but are there any new or favorite places we should check out? My conference is between Dupont Circle and Foggy Bottom, for the record.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. I remember a hole-in-the-wall Greek place, a short walk southeast of the Capitol, that was consistently excellent. I can’t find it on Google Maps, so don’t know if it’s closed, changed names/themes, or what. This would have been 5 years ago, so who knows. Any chance you know the place I mean?

    Of course, as I’m sure you know/remember, it’s amazing how little actual food, much less good food, there is anywhere near the actual center of government. You have to go a long way from the Mall to find anything beyond hot dog carts. Always found that extremely frustrating.

  2. I think you’re thinking of Taverna, the Greek Isles (if memory serves). I had a roast chicken there once that still stands out…

  3. P.S. Re good food on the Mall, the new American Indian museum has a food court that has become very popular with both tourists and nearby office workers. It serves Native American specialties and is divided by region (walleye and wild rice in the upper Midwest, salmon in the Northwest, fry bread in the Southwest, etc.). Worth checking out…

Leave a Reply

