When pig heads fly

Photo by Nick King of the Columbia Daily Tribune

 

I started writing a Sycamore column about two months ago, but it quickly became clear that there was far more to tackle than a measly 600 words allows for. Marcia was a good sport and let me hop over to the main page for a week. The resulting cover story was in tonight’s Tribune. You should be subscribing (Wednesdays and Sundays at the very least), but if you absolutely insist, the story is available online.  

A few notes: 

  • I thought “When pig heads fly” was a grisly, off-putting headline. My wife thought it was great. What do I know? #marciawin
  • If that’s wine Jamie Smith is drinking in this picture I’ll give up pork for a year. In fact, if anyone has a picture of Jamie drinking wine I’ll give up pork for a year.*
Jamie Smith is drinking beer. And photo by Nick King of the Trib.

 

  • It’s pure coincidence that this story ran the week the Beard semifinalists for Best Chef: Midwest – sans Mike Odette – were announced. It’s possible that every other chef on the list simply got a little better over the past year. But doubtful. Mike has inarguably stepped up his game…it’s just a sad fact of awards that someone worthy always gets left off. I know he’ll take it in stride. Lucky us.

* – No, not really.

Author: Scott

I am an early-thirties married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in Washingt

4 thoughts

  1. Good thing you added that asterisk, Scott! I don’t know that Jamie has ever had wine at lunch…but I could dig up a picture or two of wine consumption in Sonoma County! Nice article. In the 2+ years we’ve been dining at Sycamore, the food has never disappointed and seems only to get better.

  2. Mike needs to bring back the lobster pot pie appetizer. And where are those beef cheeks he promised me! Little love for non-pork eating foodies too!:)

  3. Never got to try the lobster pot pie app, so I could use a return from that as well. And beef cheeks are wonderful. That too, please.

Leave a Reply

