Free State beer coming to Missouri

I see a note in today’s Post-Dispatch that Lawrence, Kansas-based Free State Brewing Co. has signed with Major Brands to distribute five of their beers in Missouri “soon.”

I like their t-shirts (with “because without beer, things do not seem to go as well” quote), but have never sampled the actual beer. Anybody able to weigh in?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. I love how my first thought was, “Free beer? they’re giving away free beer? Awesome!”

    then I kept reading…

  2. Don’t remember the beer, but loved the brew pub when I lived in Lawrence 20 years ago. When I first moved here to Columbia I wanted to call “Flat Branch” “Free State”.

  3. I have only been there once. It is a lot like Flat Branch from my recollection. It may be slightly better in both food and beer, if I recall (and unlike some, I like Flatbranch). The waiting in line issues are also there at Free State. They do not have near the outdoor space that Flat Branch does.

    Their website is freestatebrewing.com. It is worth going to if in Lawrence.

    It will be interesting to see if people in Columbia will buy a beer from Lawrence, Kansas, particularly one named Free State. Of course this name stems from the Civil War and we all know how up in arms everyone gets when that gets dredged back up…

Leave a Reply

