Mandarin House

Our go-to place for Chinese in Columbia is Mandarin House, near Hy-Vee on West Broadway. The kids can get chicken lo mein; mom and dad can venture further afield. A few months ago we discovered ta-chin chicken – battered and deep-fried chicken in a spicy, garlicky sauce. Today, feeling adventurous, I branched out and was rewarded again: hot braised fish. Lightly breaded and crunchy chunks of white fish, all tossed with a hot sauce of dried peppers, onions and garlic. Maybe not Epcot good, but a damn fine option – definitely worth trying.

I have still found House of Chow to be a little underwhelming, so Mandarin House remains our family favorite.

Mandarin House
3302 West Broadway
Columbia, MO 65203
(573) 445-8868

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

9 thoughts

  1. Mandarin House is our fave, too, with occasional forays to Chinese Wok Express on Broadway for Vietnamese (still wish they’d carry banh mi) or Q’s Chinese for a bit more expensive meal. For Korean, we like Kojaba, and Jina Yoo’s is very good as well. We know you like them, too. We’ve been debating trying Jingo’s downtown on Broadway. Are they good, bad, or mediocre?

  2. Haven’t been to Jingo’s in a while, but I liked it on my three or four visits. Bright, fresh-tasting dishes, pleasant interior, friendly service, real crab rangoon…I like the place.

  3. That’s great! A positive review is always wonderful to hear. Kind of excited to try it now…we’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

  4. I’m not trying to sound jerky, but what do you mean by “real crab rangoon”. I love the stuff, fake or whatever, but I was just wondering what you mean by “real”. Real crab meat?

  5. The key to House of Chow is to order off the menu. They used to (haven’t been there in a while) have a separate menu that included Korean dishes that were outstanding.

  6. Observer: No jerkiness implied. I mean they make them in-house, by hand, and contain a substantial amount of crab. That’s all.

    Maria, I’ll ask about the off-the-menu items next time I hit House of Chow – thanks for the tip.

  7. House of Chow’s secret Chinese menu isn’t a secret anymore. It gets handed out with the regular menu now. Either on the white laminated insert or the back of the bound menu. (I can’t remember …)

    I’m a House of Chow loyal (love the Sicuan Green Beans and prefer the atmosphere) but when they’re closed, we head to Mandarin House for the best hot-and-sour soup I’ve found around here.

    My all-time favorite hot-and-sour soup was from a Des Moines restaurant (ironically, also called the Mandarin). But it closed 😦

Leave a Reply

