Momofuku, Round One

Everyone here knows I dig the Momofuku, no surprise there. But! With the book, I can cook it and you can too (if not easily, terribly quickly or with stuff you already have in the pantry). I won’t reprint the amazingly tasty sausage and rice cake stir fry recipe here, but it was posted at Seattle Mag, so away you go. I made it at home, in less than two hours, and it was jaw-droppingly good. Buy the book, cook the food.

My column this Wednesday will chide you similarly.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

9 thoughts

  1. Hey, Scott, maybe you’ve already read this, but I’m reading Julie and Julia now by Julie Powell, and I highly recommend it. It’s a real hoot, and besides giving me some good chuckles and smiles, it’s a great peek into Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child. Have you read it? Being a blogger yourself, I think you would really appreciate it. Haven’t seen the film but I guarantee the book is much better, as books always are….

  2. ok, you have stumped me. I have reread this recipe 3 times, but I am still not sure what the rice “stick” is and how it becomes a “cake”. Other than that it sounds easy and fabulous and I will be making it soon!
    I know you said you went to Chong’s, did they have everything or was there another stop along the way?

    🙂

  3. Pam, the white (or “once white, now with sauce”) dumpling-looking things in the picture above are rice cakes. Made from pounded rice and molded into four-inch sticks, they are about four inches long to start with. Chang – and you, if so inclined – slice them into 3/4 inch “cakes” for this recipe.

    Christine, I picked Julie and Julia up a couple of years ago but seem to remember finding Julie annoying. Based on your rec, perhaps I need to give her another shot. Also, I heard Julie Powell’s new book is excellent. According to the review in Sauce, ftw.

  4. Well, maybe I’m a little bit annoying, too, because she kind of reminded me of myself in some ways, except I would never be so brave to tackle making all the dishes in MtAoFC and then blog about it. Plus, I have to admit that having Amy Adams portray Julie Powell didn’t hurt IMO either. One of the reasons I think you’d like it is that you, too, like to cook and tackle new dishes and I think you’d appreciate JP’s perspective on doing exactly the same thing. But maybe there’s just too much estrogen going on for you: when I raved about the book to my husband and said he should read it, he replied “I’m not gay, honey”! That’s his idea of humor…

  5. Aha! cool! Thank for the rice cake insight. I had no idea what those things were and I adore learning new stuff, as you well know 😉

  6. Where is Chong’s? Is that the Asian grocery store over by Patricia’s in Columbia? If it is, I have been there, but just did not know the name.

  7. Jeff, the one by Patricia’s is Hong Kong market. Chong’s is downtown, at 7th and Locust. If you go, feel free to ask for help finding items…the staff was very helpful.

Leave a Reply

