Broadway Brewery is alive and well

I won’t be the first to report it, but Broadway Brewery is open. My early take: it may be as good as you hoped.

First, the beer. Their APA was tasty, but seemed a little flat. The rye seems its early superior. Regardless, the place was packed with beer-drinkers, and no one seemed to be complaining.

Then, the food. With mediocre expectations we ordered the hummus plate, the bacon-buttermilk salad, a cheese pizza and the special – a ballsy ravioli. All, I’m stunned to say, were excellent, though most needed salt. But I realized later that the ravioli was perhaps the best plate of Italian food I’d been served in Columbia in years. I knew it was good, and raised the prospect with Mrs. SMEs. She, fresh from some of the best food of our lives in Boston (future post y’all) pronounced it all-time worthy.

So far so good.

(Note: I count Broadway Brewery co-owner Walker Claridge as a friend)

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

8 thoughts

  1. The APA is still quite flat. Nice and hoppy though! Hopefully it will get properly carbonated!

    Also–and this might be just me–I find it curious that they are a brewery and yet they sell other brands of beer. I think they should be confident enough to serve only their beers. Those were basically my only two critiques. My corned beef sandwich was quite tasty!

  2. Hey now, they’ve been open a week…let’s give them some time (re; the beer). Plus, I’d prefer they keep additional options, but that’s just me.

  3. From what I understand, it’s a major operation to get a full-fledged brewery–even a microbrewery–up and running. If they don’t have a full menu of their own beers available, I think it’s smart of them to open while offering some other brews, rather than taking on more than they can handle.

    Of course, full disclosure, I haven’t actually been there yet. I’m looking forward to it, though!

  4. I wasn’t really bitching about them selling other beers, I just expected them to embrace their beer culture a little more heavily. I also realize they just opened; I plan to go back, many times. But I’m only buying their beers, I can get Sam Adams anywhere.

  5. Maybe not on tap, but I’m pretty sure you can get some others. On a side note, I just made my first visit to Broadway Brewery this afternoon. To me, their APA and Rye beers look an taste very similar. The Rye had more carbonation and the APA had more bite, but unless I was tasting both, I probably couldn’t really tell a difference. The food was great, though. They did have lots of other good beers on their menu. I wouldn’t be averse to going there for the food and ordering one of those to drink.

Leave a Reply

