Dining research pays off

One of the last things many travelers consider while planning is food. How else to explain the throngs at tourist traps everywhere (often with far better, even cheaper options nearby)?

I use Chowhound and Roadfood.com before hitting the road. What do you all use?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

6 thoughts

  1. Both are good websites. I usually hit frommers first, then urbanspoon, gayot, and the two you mentioned. Also use beerfly via beer advocate to scope out the local pubs. Online, local newspaper food sections are another great resource.

  2. For a road trip, roadfood.com can’t be beat, augmented if possible by the Sterns’ own recent books. One year, I had three significant road trips planned and paid for their gated premium membership, which recommended places based on the itenerary I provided. Chowhound is also good to search for particular places. I like to find the alternative newspapers for a destination (e.g., Austin Chronicle, Houston Press, Albuquerque Alibi, Denver Westword), since they usually have stronger restaurant guides than do the mainline papers.

  3. Sometimes tripadvisor but have had better luck with hotels there. For the obscure areas, sometimes just plain old google will bring up something interesting like a local discussion or forum or google map for restaurants with comments. Chowhound is pretty good. Sometimes, in small towns I just abandon the internet and throw caution to the wind and look for alot of cars in the lot. Sometimes I just ask the locals, but that can be a mixed bag.

  4. Yelp was really helpful when I was in San Diego. It truly led me to the best fish tacos. It’s only available in larger cities I think.

Leave a Reply

