Soy vey!

So, Eric Reuter’s edamame are the best I’ve ever had – bar none. Stop by the market and pick up a pint or two. The kids won’t stop eating them. If you’ve had them, or have soybean-related musings in general, please share…I smell another upcoming column.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. Funny you mention your kids liking the edamame… Elizabeth (almost 3) and Harry (1 1/2) can’t get enough of the things! It’s hysterical, our back seat used to be littered with cheerios and goldfish, now it’s hairy green pods.

    I agree that Eric and Joanna’s edamame rock! At Sycamore, I’ve been setting them out as bar snacks… another 17 lbs. being delivered this week (maybe I should type up a little bar snack menu…)

  2. Mike, I think that is hilarious. We had the cheerio mobile when my kids were younger too.

    I got some of Eric’s edamame, last Wednesday. It is awesome, but alas Eric thinks it is about at an end. I wish I had let him talk me into more. maybe this week.

    We usually buy the shelled frozen stuff, but Eric’s is so much better. It has a buttery flavor. My daughter thought she tasted hints of bacon.

    I ate some of it raw (after shelling it). It was good. However, steamed was even better. I just put a little water in the bottom of a rice cooker and put one of those metal folding steaming baskets in the there and turn it on. After a few moments, it is ready. The beans just slide out of the pod. Add a little salt if you like and eat away.

    I also put some in chicken fried rice. Again, excellent.

  3. I’m a big fan of Eric and Joanne’s market stand in general, but I’ve managed to buy at least 10 lbs of their edamame so far. They really are fantastic.

  4. Thanks, everyone, for the very nice and appreciated feedback. We’ve been thrilled with the response to these and will certainly do them next year. The limiting factor is harvesting, as they’re very time-consuming, especially since we pick each row 3-4 times to get each pod right at its peak quality. Through this season we’ve been out there for 2-3 hours nearly every day just working on these. So we’re very glad it’s been so worth it.

Leave a Reply

