Mexico in Missouri

I don’t think I posted my last one, on making your own cheese, is here.

This week’s column, on Mexico, Mexican food in Columbia and my poor foreign language skills, is here.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

6 thoughts

  1. Looking forward to trying those Mexican spots in Columbia. I haven’t really tried to find the good stuff here, figuring I’d be disappointed being from LA. Now that I have some solid recommendations though…

    And I’ve made that ricotta before. Though I later read that ricotta is technically made from the whey of previously made mozzarella (which is why it is called ricotta, “re-cooked.”) No matter what it should have been called, it was good. We used it for cannoli.

  2. We went to the one on Grindstone a few years ago, after another newspaper article touted it as wonderfully authentic. We thought it was horrible. I’ve noticed the Los Cuates near Orscheln before and thought it looked like it had potential.

    We’ve been making cheese since we got our dairy goats, with a regular resume of ricotta, mozzerella, feta, and cheddar. I need to branch out.

  3. Eric, I’d bet money you went to El Maguey, which has a certain appeal to some but is not imho very good. Try Taqueria El Rodeo, it’s the best in town.

  4. taqueria el rodeo is my favorite for good, homestyle mexican food. i did also get a chorizo taco from los cuates the other day that rocked my world!

Leave a Reply

