Moving on

Faithful readers of this blog may have noticed a few recent posts about dining options in Jefferson City. This is not an accident, as I’ve been going through the interviewing process for a new job; one that I have now accepted: communications director for the Missouri Department of Social Services. The department handles TANF, food stamps, juvenile justice, foster care, child support enforcement and the state’s Medicaid program, MO HealthNet, among other programs. It’s going to be fun and challenging, but will necessarily leave far less time for blogging, lunchtime dining research, and so on. Still, I plan on keeping up with it, and will likely be able to post dispatches from destinations further afield as I familiarize myself with the department’s operations and facilities around the state.

It is not easy leaving the University of Missouri’s Thompson Center. It’s been a great place to work with innumerable success stories and daily inspiration. But leaving I am; I look forward to the challenge and appreciate your readership so far.

Sincerely,

Scott

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

6 thoughts

  1. Congratulations, Scott. The commute will be obnoxious; there really out to be a Craigslist-style site for commuters seeking carpool buddies and so on. Not to mention functional regional bus service in mid-Missouri.

  2. congratulations scott! If there is anything we can do, don’t hesitate to ask, ok? Also, even when you say you won’t be posting you usually do, so I am not freaking out just yet!

    be well, my friend

  3. Congrats to you! Will miss knowing you’re in Columbia keeping an eye on the food scene during lunch breaks 🙂 – but will count on you to report about stuff further afield in mid-MO. Best wishes to you, Scott, in your new job capacity!

    By the way, Tim and I will be trying Chom’s Korean in Jeff. City tomorrow for lunch before a visit with the MIL. Any recs?

  4. So, did you make it to Chom’s? Sorry I didn’t see your comment until now. I had the bibimbap, which was excellent.

Leave a Reply

