Sometimes you just gotta ask

I’d always found the drip coffee at my friendly neighborhood coffee shop (Rendezvous, near Truman’s) pretty bland. Though I like the owners, I stopped in rarely; it was an “only in an emergency” place for me. And then I simply told them my predicament.

“You ladies are great,” I said, “but this coffee isn’t doin’ it for me. I like the strong stuff; is there something else I should try?”

And thus was my cafe americano addiction born.

I had another case of ask-itis a few months later, this time at Cafe Berlin.

An order of Anonymous Tacos bring three giant, overstuffed breakfast tacos. They’re delicious, but one would probably do – certainly no more than two. So I asked, “Would you consider selling me just one taco for a lower price.”

They were more than willing, though we didn’t settle on what that actual price would be.

The moral of the story is: ask for what you want. More often than not, you’ll get it.

(Caveat: There is, however, a special place in hell reserved for diners who reorganize a chef’s entire menu. “Instead of risotto, how about rice pilaf.” Or, “I don’t really like asparagus, could I have those scallops with green beans.” People like this are exposing themselves, either as rubes or jerks – or both.)

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

4 thoughts

  1. Speaking of strong coffee, the Berlin blend at Cafe Berlin is a live wire. Use to like the coffee at Uprise but they switched brands and the new one tastes peculiar.

  2. Uprise used to have great coffee when they used Z-Best. I was very disappointed when they switched to what they’re using now. I get that it’s fair trade and all that wonderful stuff, but I’m not going to be diplomatic here: It tastes like crap.

  3. Oh yeah, it really makes me cringe when I hear (thankfully only infrequently) a diner ask for a substitute on the menu when dining out. I either want to say, shut up, the chef knows WAY MORE than you do about what goes with what, or I want to just patiently encourage them to be adventuresome for a change and try something new… they might like it!

Leave a Reply

