Korean in Jefferson City?

I don’t get down to Jefferson City very often, but recently enjoyed a trip to Zesto’s and today had some really good (who would have thought) Korean food. On High Street. The place is called Chom’s Traditional Korean Food and it’s right around the corner from the Capitol. Anyway, the bibimbap was a familiar interweaving of textures, flavors and temperatures – delicious. The kimchi, calamari and other assorted Korean little plates (banchan) – all homemade – were good as well.

A hole-in-the-wall, but a tasty one. Who knew Jeff City had it in ’em?

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. I love Chom’s! She does a pretty brisk business, for such a small space. Very very good. I always want to try something different, but like the bibimbap too dang much.

    She inspired me to learn to fix kalbi, or Korean short ribs, myself. Pretty decent!

  2. Yes, I knew about this place and have been wanting to try it for some time; my MIL lives in Jeff City, but she’s not overly adventurous in her eating, so it would be a real leap out of her comfort zone to go there. Oh well, I’m sure we will make it there at some point. However, I understand their hours are limited, such as not open in the evenings or on Saturday. Do you know if this is true, or do you remember what their hours really are?

  3. This is what I found online:

    Lunch Monday-Sat 11am-2pm,Dinner Thursday-Friday 4pm-8pm

    It’s a tiny place, and seems to be run by only two people. I’ll reserve final judgment for after a few more visits, but it seems like a hidden gem (ie, the nearby office worker I asked about it had never heard of the place).

  4. You are right, Scott. Few people know about the place, but we’ve never had a bad lunch there yet. Have never visited for dinner.

Leave a Reply

