Columbia Beer Enthusiasts

Truth be told, the last tasting of the Columbia Beer Enthusiasts wasn’t one I’d been looking forward to. Lambics and sours. Hell, I didn’t even know what a sour beer was. But that’s probably why it turned out to be the most interesting. And now I have a new love, one that has been consummated four or five times in just a week since the tasting. People I’ve shared it with – who don’t even like beer – love it. Lambic.

The Wall Street Journal posted a very cool video about the history of lambic production in Belgium. It’s well-worth a few minutes of your time.

Specifically I have enjoyed the Oud Beersels, available at Sycamore by the bottle and utterly delicious.

The slightly sweeter lambic framboise from Lindemans (pic above) is more recognizable, but chances are you haven’t been buying it. You should be; it’s raspberry flavors and tartness will make for great sipping when the weather heats up. In terms of food pairing I think it would work with anything you’d serve with Beaujolais. Maybe Thai food, gumbo, fried chicken.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

3 thoughts

  1. There are few things that i like more than the Lindemans lambic framboise on tap. You would find that beer at the Blue Fugue; the house style is served as a back to a dangerously sippable chilled shot of Chartreuse.

  2. No doubt the one(s) you tried were better, but probably the worst beer that I ever have tried to drink was a Samuel Adams Cranberry Lambic. I bravely tried two or three sips; I subsequently apologized to the kitchen sink for having poured it there–I should have dumped it in the toilet.

Leave a Reply

