World Harvest turns five

My next column for the Tribune will mark the five year anniversary of World Harvest. They’re my go-to destination for cheese, oils and vinegars, among other things. What do you go there for? Or, on the flip side, have you not been?

Specific recommendations:

Aceita Reale 10-year balsamic vinegar (for special occasions)

Saifan olive oil for everyday use/cooking

Dal Racconto olive oil for dipping, finishing

Greek yogurt

Prima Donna cheese, upon which I have quite a crush these days

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

8 thoughts

  1. I picked up some Saifan olive oil the last time I was there – Very good and very reasonably priced.

  2. We go there for the Piave Vecchio cheese, the frozen aloo paratha (great for quick lunches), and … the Canadian maple leaf sandwich cookies. (If they carried the LeClerc brand, I’d probably gain 10 pounds…)

  3. Emmental Cheese, Brie Cheese, Buffalo Mozzerella, Chocolate, olives etc..
    Not a fan of their hummus though.

  4. Cheese, olives, dulce de leche (yummy!), mustard, chocolates…

    Even though I like the place very much, and I have been a customer from day 1, it annoys me that you have to be very careful checking the expiration dates of their products. I had to return many items, including cheese.

  5. We swung by the small grocery attached to the mosque in downtown today, and found it a reasonable backup for World Harvest in many ways. Far smaller and with more limited selection, but lots of solid stock. Not much cheese, but a different brand of Lebanese olive oil that we’re looking forward to testing against the Saifan, which is some of the best I’ve ever had.

  6. Goat Gouda. South African peppers in sweet vinegar. Olive oil. Pita. Sherry vinegar.
    But I was talking to a professional cook a couple years ago about where to get pancetta in Columbia. He suggested World Harvest – No Go, they’re Muslim. 😉

Leave a Reply

