Broadway Brewery

Walker Claridge, Columbia’s food pied piper (without that whole child abduction legend thingy), seems on track to open his brewery/local foods restaurant by late April.

Update: This opening date is very much still in flux. Seems there are a number of – go figure – confusing and contradictory city/county hoops left through which to jump.


From the Columbia Business Times:

A co-owner of the Root Cellar said Wednesday that he and his three partners plan to open their brewery pub on Broadway in downtown Columbia by late April.

Broadway Brewery is being constructed next to the Root Cellar at 816 E. Broadway. The downstairs location formerly leased by Uprise Bakery is between American Shoe and the Envy clothing store. Uprise Bakery moved to Hitt Street in a building shared with Ragtag Cinemacafe.

The partners in Broadway Brewery are Walker Claridge, co-owner of the Root Cellar, brothers Kenny and Jim Duzan, and Paul Dickerson, the brewmaster.

Kenny Duzan and Dickerson are biologists who work for the Department of Natural Resources, while Jim Duzan is a retired school teacher. Duzan and Claridge are also Boone County produce farmers.

The Root Cellar is a grocery that carries only products made or grown in Missouri, and the Broadway Brewery’s restaurant will have a similar policy, although the menu is still being refined. “We intend to showcase locally grown food,” Claridge said.

The 3,000-square-foot building features a 48-seat dining area in the front, a 20-seat bar in the middle and the brewery operation in a glass-enclosed room in the rear. Nine metal vats will be used to brew a variety of in-house beers.

Author: Scott

I am a married father of two. I graduated from Rock Bridge High School and then Mizzou before spending six years in the Washington, D.C. area. We returned to Columbia, Missouri in 2006.

5 thoughts

  1. Guys, I want this to work but last night’s food was probably the worst I have tasten in Columbia in the 26 years I have been here. I ordered the pork sandwich and pork and beans side. The sandwich was way too salty and pork and beans were burnt. I could not eat either. The beer was pretty good but nothing to shout about. I hate to say it but you are way behind Flat Branch. I want you to succeed but something has to be done about the food. The beer I think there are some kinks to work out and I am willing to wait and see. Your salads are way to over priced also. The accoustics are terrible, we had to shout at each other all night. I will wait a month and give you another try, hope it improves, I am pulling for you.

  2. Loved the atmosphere! I enjoyed my meal – hamburger and golden potatoes. I thought the sizes were just right – not too much and not too little. I really enjoyed the beer also. It did not have that bitter after taste that lots of local brews have. I encourage people to give it a try.

  3. Don’t have a review yet but I’m excited that I stumbled across what an old friend is up to. I plan on visiting the brewery/restuarant soon and can attest to the fact that Walker Claridge is a class act guy and will give this everything he has. Look forward to visiting the brewery soon. P.S. I think John Purves (from the post above) either works for Flat Branch or is just a grumpy, crusty, old dude.

  4. Please keep the awesome three-layer chocolate coffee stout cake w/ bailey’s creamed cheese frosting on the menu FOREVER!

Leave a Reply

